Advanced Certificate in Reading Specialist

(21 hours – excluding requisites)

Teachers desiring to specialize in the important area of reading may pursue the Reading Specialist Certificate, an all-level (EC-12) certificate. The Reading Specialist is a certification recognized across the U.S. and many holding this advanced certification work as literacy coaches, assisting teachers with the implementation of best literacy practices. Teachers may add the Reading Specialist Certificate to their existing valid credential upon completion of a master’s degree with sufficient coursework in literacy, two years of acceptable classroom teaching experience, and after passing the Reading Specialist TExES examination.

To be eligible for admission to this program, applicants must hold a master’s degree from an accredited institution of higher education. A master’s degree is required to qualify for State of Texas certification. Successful completion of the Graduate Record Examinations® (GRE®) is a requirement for admission to this certificate program.

REQUIRED COURSES (excluding requisites)


READ 5302 - Scaffolding Literacy Instruction

READ 5314 - Reading Curriculum Instruction Assessment

READ 5315 - Reading Strategies for the Emergent Learner (EC-6)


READ 5316 - Reading Strategies for the Advanced Learner (7-12)

READ 6325 - Phonics and Word Analysis

READ 6326 - Understanding Diverse and Struggling Learners in Reading


READ 5322 - Connecting Reading and Writing Workshop Practicum I (S-L)

READ 5323 - Reading Specialist Practicum II (S-L)

READ 5011 - Reading Specialist Seminar (Required: Must pass this seminar to complete the program.)

Refer to course description for course requisites.


Find course descriptions by category under the Graduate Course Descriptions section in the navigation panel.